About Us |  Contact Us |  Membership |  Mailing List |  Home



On Nov. 17, 2013, the Chinese Association of Iowa’s Achievement Award Selection Committee selected the honorees for the 2013 Iowa Chinese Achievement Awards.  The honorees received their awards on Feb 1, 2014 at the 2014 Iowa Chinese New Year Celebrations held in Waukee Middle School. Former Lt Governor Patty Judge was the featured keynote speaker at the award ceremony.

The 2013 Iowa Chinese Achievement Awards

Persons of the Year are dedicated to celebrating individuals for their distinguished involvement and contribution in the Iowa Chinese community.
Honorees:        Sarah Lande                Luca Berrone

Leadership in Diversity Award recognizes individuals and usanizations that demonstrate outstanding creativity, commitment and effectiveness in promoting diversity in State of Iowa.
Honorees:        Marsha Kephart          Tammy Getting

The Corporate Leadership Award is dedicated to celebrating and recognizing corporations or individuals in the corporate sector who exemplify not only excellence in their profession, but also leadership and commitment in their respective communities, and to the existing corporate culture of diversity initiatives.
Honoree:         Bill Aossey

The Community Leadership Award recognizes individuals and usanizations whose leadership has made a significant impact in Iowa communities.  The Community Leadership Awards showcase individual or usanizational excellence in leadership as demonstrated by outstanding initiative, impact of work, and inspiration of others.
Honoree:         Kathy Murphy

The Community Business Award is dedicated to companies that help tackle deprivation and create sustainable, dynamic and inclusive communities.  It is also for individuals whose leadership and commitment to responsible business has resulted in changes and improvements inside their own company and who have also inspired other usanizations to take action.
Honoree:         Family Acupuncture  

Education Agency of the Year is dedicated to the schools or school districts that have demonstrated exemplary practices or programs in one or more of the following areas:
- Curriculum development, staff development, or administrative practices to improve or provide more equitable educational opportunities for children and youth;
- Enhancement of communications within and among local school districts for ethnic groups;
- Promotion and development of state and regional delivery systems which bring about creative, efficient and effective education for diversity and international understanding.
Honorees: Meredith Middle School and Scattergood Friends School
Honorees:        Meredith Middle School                     Scattergood Friends School 

Government Agency of the Year is to recognize the extraordinary work of municipal,
county, and state usanizations in the State of Iowa that have provided the highest level of leadership; for projects and partnerships that raise the bar as to what is possible; for jurisdictions that provide a level of excellence, expertise and service in local government for all to emulate. They have demonstrated exemplary practices or programs in one or more of the following areas:
- Unique achievements in the creation and implementation of exemplary government programs or projects and exceptional public sector contributions for diversity and international exchanges.
- Cooperative efforts between local government jurisdictions or agencies and private or non-profit usanizations resulting in positive changes in the community.
Honoree:         City of Waukee

Non-profit Usanization of the Year is dedicated to recognize nonprofit usanizations committed to strategic planning and cultivating local cultural, education, business, and community development.
Honoree: Iowa Soybean Association

Volunteers of the Year are dedicated for those who lead a life of volunteerism and making a difference in the communities in which they live and work.  The nominations will be judged based on their involvement, impact to the usanization and the value of their work to the community.
Honorees:        Na Ta              Lingxiao Shen             Xiaolong Wang           Xiaochen Zuo

Youth Leadership Award is to honor extraordinary young people for their character and leadership.  The award recognizes youth under 22 years of age on Jan. 1st, 2014 who strive to be their personal best, make a positive difference in their schools, youth groups, and communities, and show outstanding qualities in servant leadership.
Honorees:        Sihan Gao       Yuejia Zhu

Youth of the Year recognizes the young people who serve and make a difference in our community, they will be honored for their selfless acts and character development. Youths who are attending or have attended a high school or secondary school or equivalent standard of school in any other educational establishment, must be under 19 years of age on Jan. 1st, 2014. 
Honorees:        Suryatej Akavaram     Emily Hou       Ziyu Li            Isabelle Pierotti-May
Allen Robles               Celine Robles  Ziqing Ye        Hanson Yan   
Junjia Zhang                Ruifan Zhang

As a major community usanization, Chinese Association of Iowa believes that it is essential to identify and honor "role models" who can inspire all of us, especially the younger generation. 

With so many community events and programs, there has never been a more important time to recognize the contributions made by businesses, usanizations and volunteers in communities across the State of Iowa and overseas who give their time and energy to support our community.

Previous award winners have all been excellent examples of the leadership and volunteer spirit celebrated through the awards.  From the oldest member to the youngest, these individuals, businesses, usanizations have demonstrated generosity and a strong commitment to improve the well-being of our communities through their leadership, volunteerism, and sacrifice.

With each award, The Chinese Association of Iowa publicly affirms present achievements, seeks to encourage further work on the part of the recipients, and hopes to motivate others to follow their lead in service to Iowa communities. The annual Iowa Chinese Achievement Awards Ceremony was held at Waukee Middle School, Waukee, Iowa on Saturday Feb. 1, 2014 from 5:00-8:00pm. The evening event will feature the reception, the New Year dinner (5:00-6:30pm, $25 for public and $10 for members and students), award ceremony, music and dancing (6:30-8:00pm, free admission).  Please contact Swallow Yan at 515-988-0901, IowaChinese@yahoo.com for any questions.



Copyright © Chinese Association of Iowa.All rights reserved.
Last Modified: February 21, 2014