About Us |  Contact Us |  Membership |  Mailing List |  Home




The Chinese Association of Iowa

Invite You to  

The 12th Annual Chinese New Year Celebrations
The Iowa Chinese Achievement Awards Ceremony

Proudly Co-Hosted By
Chinese Association of Iowa  
Merrill Middle School

Merrill Middle School
5301 Grand Ave., Des Moines, Iowa 50312

Saturday, February 21, 2015

11:00am-3:00pm (Free Admission)
The New Year Celebrations will have performances of martial arts, dancing and music, cultural demonstrations, and children activities


China Visa Application

5:00-9:00pm ($25 for Adults or $10 for students or children)
The Awards Ceremony will feature a keynote speaker, the reception, music and dancing, and the New Year dinner for the award winners, their families, sponsors and community members.

Host families and volunteers needed for this annual event

Swallow Yan, 515-988-0901

Miss Iowa 2014 Aly Olson will open the ceremony by singing American National Anthem and emcee the evening program.  Aly represented the state of Iowa at the 2015 Miss America Pageant, where she was named a top 12 semi-finalist.  She is a senior at the University of Iowa, majoring in Vocal Performance and Performing Arts Entrepreneurship.
Michael LaValle, the general manager and culinary director of the Des Moines Embassy Club, will keynote speak with the title of “A Chef’s Diplomacy”, talking about his recent China trip and his project.
Dr. David Maxwell, President of Drake University, will be presented with the Person of the Year Award.  The Chinese Association of Iowa members bestowed its top honor on Maxwell in recognition of his personal commitment to promoting cultural diversity and enrichment in Iowa, as well as Drake University's exceptional efforts to promote global citizenship and enhanced awareness of global issues. 
A group of businesses, organizations, schools, individuals, and students will be recognized for their distinguished contributions.

The Iowa Chinese Achievement Awards

Corporate Leadership Award:
US Bank

Community Business Award:
Morgan Stanley Wealth Management

Community Leadership Award:
Kenn Yu, Past President of the Chinese Association of Iowa, Business Development Analyst at Principal Financial Group

Education Agencies of the Year:
Maur Hill-Mount Academy, Atchison, Kansas
Merrill Middle School, Des Moines, Iowa
Walnut Street School, Des Moines, Iowa

The Leadership in Diversity Award:
Henny Ohr, Founder and Executive Director of Ethnic Minorities of Burma Advocacy and Resource Center (EMBARC)
Gayle Canada, Americorp Service Learning Action Advocate, Merrill Middle School

Cultural Ambassadors Award:
Kansas LeYue Arts Ensemble
Minnesota Chinese Opera

Artists of the Year:
Santiago Sanchez, Cedar Rapids
Lindsay Linxi Yang, Milwaukee

Volunteers of the Year:
Lucas Luoxi Hao, Truman State University
Ningbo Lu, Iowa State University
Alice Aixiang Kong, Asia Massage
Xin Song, Des Moines Area Community College
Muse Fengze Sun, Iowa State University
Iris Yue Yin, Drake University

Youth Leadership Award:
Evan Wenhao Li, Dowling High School
Mary Ann Schwindt, Merrill Middle School
Katie Wang, Waukee High School
Pauline Ziqing Ye, Des Moines Christian School

Youth of the Year:
Jerry Yingnan Hao, Maur Hill-Mount Academy
John Xiaoxu Jiang, Maur Hill-Mount Academy
Hira Mustafa, Valley High School
Joy Rector, Merrill Middle School
Tanya Ziqi Wang, Dowling High School
Annie Zhang, Valley High School

2015 Iowa Chinese New Year Posters Contest Winners:
1st Place - Gloria Aguilar, Merrill Middle School
2nd Place - Faiza Naseer, Merrill Middle School
3rd Place - John Watson​, Merrill Middle School



Copyright © Chinese Association of Iowa.All rights reserved.
Last Modified: February 16, 2015