About Us |  Contact Us |  Membership |  Mailing List |  Home



The Chinese Association of Iowa Cordially Invites You to

The Community Celebration of
The 25th Anniversary of the Chinese Association of Iow

Sunday March 24, 2013

Woodlands Creek Active Retirement Community
12675 Woodlands Pkwy, Clive, Iowa 50325

Music, card game, and potluck

Free Admission


Bring your food to share, the Chinese Association of Iowa will provide drink and tableware. There is sponsorship opportunity for this event, you can contact Swallow Yan at 515-988-0901, IowaChinese@yahoo.com if you are interested or any questions.

On Feb 25, 2013, The Chinese Association of Iowa held the 25th anniversary contribution awards ceremony at Embassy Club, downtown Des Moines.  Chicago Chinese Consul General Weiping Zhao delivered the keynote and presented the awards.  The followings are the honorees of the Iowa Chinese 25 Years Contribution Awards.

Iowa Chinese 25 Years Contribution Awards and Honorees

David Jiajiang Wang Award for Humanity 
Honoree: Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn

The Dr. David Jiajian Wang Award for Humanity is the Chinese Association of Iowa’s most prestigious honor.  In the past, the association has selected individuals or group among the top echelon of extraordinary contributors to society in our generation to recognize their distinguished humanity impact to the State of Iowa. Governor Robert Ray, Kemin Industries, Eric Idehen, and Red Cross Central Iowa Chapter are the honorees since the award was established in 2007. 

On August 17, 2002, Dr. David Jiajian Wang, a native of China’s Hainan Island and a dentist graduated from the University of Iowa College of Dentistry, and sacrificed his life when he tried to rescue a boy at Lake Panorama, Panora.  In October 2002 Dr. David Wang received the Person of the Year from the Iowa Asian Alliance for his professional achievement, business development, his service to under-privileged people and his sacrifice for others.  On August 17, 2003, a year after Dr. David Wang’s sacrifice, the Chinese Association of Iowa presented the Iowa Hero Award to Dr. David Wang’s mother and sister in recognition of their proud son and brother’s heroic actions for saving other’s life.

Community Contribution Award
Chi Li, Michigan
Des Moines Eagle Claw Kung Fu and Tai Chi School, Iowa
Guolin Zhao, Kansas
Grace Yang, Iowa
Helen Lee, Iowa
Lilly Hou, Iowa
Jeanne Caldwell, Iowa
Joesten Zhou, Iowa
Jianlin Zhai and Xiaoyan Shen, Maryland
Max Kun Zhang, Virginia
See Rodari, Iowa
Shuxin Cui, Iowa

Honorees for the Community Contributions Award are those individuals who tirelessly devote themselves to enhancing the living, learning and working experience of the Iowa Chinese community. Their service orientation benefits their community members. On a daily basis, their roles help shape the community environment. They are known for their smiles, can-do attitudes and exceptional service levels, and they must meet one or more of the following criteria:

• Impact — their contribution made a difference to the Iowa Chinese community
• Connections — their effort strengthens the community’s connection
• Effort — especially as outside their professional duties
• Longevity — their contribution has been sustained over time

International Education Leadership Award
Kirk Martin, Drake University
Patricia Parker, Iowa State University
Downing Thomas, University of Iowa

International Education Leadership Award recognizes individuals or usanizations whose records of distinguished service to the international education program.  The honorees have an exemplary record of publication, teaching, advising, advocacy, leadership, new program development, or general service to the field that has made and will make a lasting contribution to international education.

This award recognizes extraordinary contributions of individuals or usanizations that have made a significant contribution to advance global learning, have initiated, developed and/or supported opportunities for global learning.

Public Service Award
Julie Johnson, Senator Chuck Grassley Office
Omar Padilla, Senator Tom Harkin Office
Ted Tran, former Congressman Leonard Boswell Office

This award recognizes individuals and teams who provide improved access to government information and services by delivering efficient, effective and seamless service while maintaining a strong service ethic, with excellence in citizen-focused service delivery.

The honorees must meet one or more of the following criteria:
• Developed, managed and sustained strategic partnerships with other government, private sector, volunteer, non-profit usanizations, community that integrate both policy and service delivery, with a view to better serving Iowans;
• Developed new tools and implemented innovative solutions in order to improve access to, as well as the delivery of, programs and services to Iowans; or
• Applied new business models and skills to the delivery of services.

Business and Community Partnership Award
Bankers Trust
RDG Planning and Design
Wells Fargo

The Business and Community Partnership Award recognizes and celebrates outstanding partnerships between businesses, nonprofit usanizations, and community that are finding innovative ways to support and strengthen the Iowa Chinese community.

The International Business Leadership Award
Kemin Industries
Principal Financial Group

The International Business Leadership Awards defines and celebrates vision, the spirit of global ambition and excellence in international leadership.  Honorees are selected from within Iowa companies for having led them to new global heights demonstrating the entrepreneurial spirit, determination, creativity and cultural sensitivity that the global marketplace demands.

Leadership in Diversity Award
Des Moines Area Community College
Pioneer Hi-Bred International

Leadership in Diversity Award recognizes individuals and usanizations that demonstrate outstanding creativity, commitment, and effectiveness in promoting diversity in the State of Iowa.



Copyright © Chinese Association of Iowa.All rights reserved.
Last Modified: March 20, 2013